Political System

Burgenland state politics between 1922 and 1934 the Burgenland has through his late”enter to exhibit also specific conditions for its political system in the history of Austrian. The history of the political camps here partly took a different course. So, played a much larger role than in other States about the third camp and was at times even the Governor. There was a total of four terms terms of the Parliament of Burgenland in the 1st Republic (1922-34): I. GP (1922-1923), II. GP (1923-1927), III. GP (1927-1930, IV. GP (1930-1934).) In 1934, the Democratic Republican Parliament of Burgenland was replaced by a standisch authoritarian State Parliament.

At the same time, this was the end of democracy in the Burgenland until the year 1945. The Social Democratic Party (SdP), the Christian Social Party (CSP), the Landbund (LdB) and the greater German people’s Party (GdP) represented were in those twelve years in the Landtag of Burgenland. Election results for the results of the election between 1922 and 1930 were the presence of a three-party system again the Landtag of Burgenland. While at the first State election, the Social Democratic Party (SdP) which took over the largest party with 13 seats, had this 1st place in the subsequent three state elections in 1923, 1927 and 1930 the Christian Social Party (CSP) with 13 or 14 mandates and positions. In 1927 which ran Christian Social Party (CSP) together with the greater German people’s Party on a so-called unity list”, in 1930, along with the home guard.

This stood in contrast to the national elections or the Austrian State of Carinthia, cannot stand alone as a block of home to. The Social Democrats scored with 12 1923 and 1927 and 1930 with 14 mandates each close behind the 2.Platz. The third camp consisting of of Grossdeutscher people party (GdP) and the Landbund (LBd) only scored 1922 10 mandates, 1923 as national 7 mandates, 1927 as national 5 mandates and 1930 as a national economic block (Landbund/large German people’s Party) also 5 mandates.